Any advice welcome

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter907

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I've just bought a cheap new lathe to get me started. It is a Clarke cwl325 13" with variable speed. I have never used a lathe before so spent several days watching YouTube videos to get an idea what I was doing. Today I set up the lathe and mounted a small piece of pine about 40x40x300mm long to have a practice on using my set of carbide chisels. During the first couple of minutes it stalled momentarily on about 4 occasions as I was obviously applying too much pressure, though I felt I was being very careful and gentle. At about the two minute mark it stopped and wouldn't turn again. I studied the troubleshooting section of the manual and found the small glass 5 amp fuse. The fuse was all shades of brown and black inside the glass. I've ordered the very same fuse, actually a pack of 150 for quick delivery tomorrow morning from Amazon! Hopefully the damage will not be any more serious than needing a new fuse.
I know I have bought the cheapest available lathe which is probably false economy, but I would like to read any of your comments and advice on my experience as a newbie with this lathe. Maybe I'm doing something wrong or perhaps I should have spent more money.

It is only 250w so you will have to take things easy. Perhaps a sharp gouge or a smaller carbide chisel would be easier on the motor. I had a look at a youtube vid and the guy was turning on one with a small gouge without stalling it. Thing should get easier as you get a feel for it and that takes practice. If it feels like stalling then back off a bit.
With the new fuses if it blows another in short order then I would be taking it back for a refund. A 40x40mm workpiece is not big and even a small lathe should handle that.
Regards
John