A project with wood log slices... Some questions.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davedoublem

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to working with wood, and am starting to use it more with some of my crafts, particularly when I work with gypsum plaster.

I particularly want to use some large wood slices approx 250mm diameter that incorporates a small 150mm mirror within it and has a plaster frame around it which is attached to the log slice. The wood in question is paulownia.

I've heard that wood slices can randomly crack depending on humidity. Obviously wood is porous and plaster is wet and takes a few days to dry out. I've giveny wood a couple of days and will continue to give it a few more to dry. At the moment all seems OK. My worry is something happening to the wood further down the line, say after a customer has purchased a piece. These log slices are for indoor use only but the fact these could naturally crack at any time would result in the plaster possibly cracking and maybe the mirror becoming damaged. The thickness of the log is approx 20-25mm and the overall weight of the plaster and mirror included is fairly minimal.

Am I over worrying or could this wood disintegrate or crack over time and in turn affect what is attached to it? Is there a recommended type of tree that might be more suitable to use... If anyone can give some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

A picture could paint a thousand words here to show how the parts of your artefact fit together. Wood moves as it dries out, and moves some more with changes in atmospheric humidity. Good wood product design is based on cutting components in such a way and fitting them together so that the effect of the movement is accommodated.