Turning and back problems

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frugal

Established Member
Reaction score
I was out in the workshop last night and when I came in I realised that my back was killing me. The last time I went out my back was hurting the morning afterwards. I treated it with a hot pack, a cold pack and some pain killers, and I do not feel too bad this morning.

Obviously I would rather that I stopped it occuring rather than came up with an effective way of dealing with the after effects. Especially as I have a protruding lumbar vertebrae which has a tendency to press on the spinal nerves if I do things wrong.

My set up is that I have the baby ASWL axminster lathe which is currently mounted on top of some old kitchen cabinets. The cabinets are 900mm high, which puts the lathe axis slightly above elbow height. I have some anti-fatigue mats on the floor in front of the lathe and decent cusioned boots on my feet.

I know that one of the things I need to do is take shorter sessions (when SWMBO came out to tell me just how late it was, I had been stood at the lathe for about 3 hours).

I have my back strengthening exercises from the physio to try and build up the muscles to protect my back, but does anyone else have any hints or tricks for preventing back ache whilst turning?

This is where the swivel head comes in handy.
Stops you from leaning over the lathe and lets you stand more upright when hollowing for instance.
The height is also important but depends what you will be turning most.
I have mine above elbow height so i am not crouching so much.
John Jordan also recommends doing some stretching exercises before starting a turning session,which he illustrates in his book.