The UKW Woodturning Challenge. 2013

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nev

Established Member
Reaction score
The UKW Woodturning Challenge. 2013

OK looks like we will be proceeding :mrgreen:

The first thing to note is that the word is 'Challenge' not 'Competition'. It is to challenge each of us taking part, whatever the skill level, to have a go at something he/she may not normally do, and in doing so improving their own skills and learning whilst doing something we enjoy. It is, as the cliche says, about the taking part, not the winning, and giving us an excuse to get out to the shed more.
So to the 'newbies' worried about embarrassing themselves i would like to bring to your attention this post :oops: and also to point out that quite a few of those near the top of the table in both the 2011 and 2012 challenges were also recently new to turning and self taught.
So what are you waiting for? an invitation?
Here it is ... Welcome :D

When the scoreboard has been updated/ refreshed just sign up and you're in!

OK. Suggestions please for any new items/ projects to be considered for our monthly challenge, and then we'll decide. (dont know how but we'll sort something out :mrgreen: )

As proposed by Blister back in August:-

a bowl
a platter,
a decorated bowl,
a decorated platter,
a box,
a hollow form,
an artistic piece ,
a child's toy,
an adult toy :shock: :shock:
a clock barometer or temperature gauge
a set of matching lace bobbins
a pair of candle sticks,
a vase.
a offset turning
xmas decoration

There are 15 items here, so some could be omitted (or we could give newbies a choice if some of the challenges are too hard?).