Smoothing plane

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zag73

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I’m mulling the idea of getting a smoothing plane. I love the veritas planes and have narrowed down my choice to a veritas low angle smoother and a veritas bevel up smoother? Has anybody any experience of these two planes? Is one better than the other? I have a veritas Jack plane. Would a smoother do significantly more than the Jack? For context , I’m a hobbyist hybrid woodworker.

Thanks in advance.

Don't buy anything but a Bailey smoother first, i.e Stanley/Record for very little, and learn how to use a double iron smoother first, i.e involvement of the cap iron
straight shavings and not curlies, this will tell you the cap iron is working.
You won't see the cap iron working in most folks videos, very obvious.

Why an old Bailey for cheap?
1. because you won't be afraid to hone the cap iron steeply at the leading edge,
likely might be wary to try if going premium BD plane route.
2. you don't need fancy hones for fancy steels.
3. Certainly worth having to try, compared to something expensive, you may prefer the ergonomics of the well designed totes on pretty much every Bailey plane ever made,
aswell as the weight difference to a lesser extent.

Unless youre specifically planing rosewood, or some other uber dense tropical species and restricted to the wispiest of shavings,
and not just most of the regular interlocked or figured timers, then it doesn't make sense to buy some fancy BU plane, as it's restrictive to the depth of cut.

Tom

My suggestion would be neither! We all tend to make recommendations according to our own experiences & the type of work we do, so let me add that caveat before proceeding! :)