Serious help needed from any guitarist

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I came late to music and got talked into starting on ukulele about 11 years ago. Only 4 strings to worry about and with a shorter neck there is less finger span required so making chords is easier.
This is great advice. The string tension is much easier on the fingers too. The tuning is the same as the top 4 strings of a guitar (although the first string is an octave higher), so you can transfer what you learn onto guitar if you want to go further. You can pick up a starter ukulele for twenty pounds or so off Amazon or ebay or even less second hand on Gumtree.

I've been playing for two years (started at 53).
I practice at least 30-60 mins every day, and I can honestly say, with that amount of time invested, I'm surprised at how awful I still am.
My fingers wont stretch, my memory is shockingly bad and co-ordination between my hands is best described as 'bloody useless'.
When ever anyone asks me how it's going, my answer is "well.......I'm not as bad as when I first started'.

I love trying, but it isn't easy - I think I read somewhere that more than 90% of people who try to learn give up within 3 months.
My way of saying, it can to be a mission no matter what condition you're in when you start - don't expect too much, but enjoy the journey :)

Thanks, your thread just encouraged me to grab a guitar from the cupboard and practice..... i haven't picked one up for nearly 2 years!
🤔 i could do that rather than trawling the internet in my spare time

I've been playing for two years (started at 53).
I practice at least 30-60 mins every day, and I can honestly say, with that amount of time invested, I'm surprised at how awful I still am.
My fingers wont stretch, my memory is shockingly bad and co-ordination between my hands is best described as 'bloody useless'.