• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Replacement Edge Strips for Plunge Saw Track

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Kev

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2004
Messages
243
Reaction score
11
Location
Kent
Hi All,

I need to replace the edge strips on my Dewalt plunge saw and wondered if anyone had any experience of this. What I am wondering is whether the Makita replacement strips or other alternative would work on a Dewalt track. I can not think of a reason why not but wondered if I had missed something. The main reason for this is the cost of the Dewalt replacement strips which frankly are a rip off. From a search online the cost seems to be between £25 - £30 for a 1.65m length. By the time you have replaced both sides its nearly the price of the track itself and I have two that need new edges. I dont mind paying for quality but this just feels like I am being taken for a ride (only way I could think of saying it politely)!. The Makita edges are a fraction of this cost.
 

DBT85

Established Member
Joined
19 Dec 2015
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
474
Location
Pershore, Worcester
I can't think of a reason why it would be an issue to use the makita one. I'll be using it on my evolution tracks soon.
 

Richard S

Established Member
Joined
7 Nov 2005
Messages
880
Reaction score
11
Location
Northampton
I use the Makita strips on my Festool tracks all the time, only issue is that they are slightly narrower than OEM so need off setting a touch. You can normally get a couple of edges out of each strip if you remove and re-attach a few mm over once the first edge is worn.
 

galleywood

Established Member
Joined
24 Feb 2015
Messages
372
Reaction score
19
Location
Chelmsford
Peter Millard did a post on his Youtube site, covering replacement strips - check his site out.
 

Eric The Viking

Established Member
Joined
19 Jan 2010
Messages
6,599
Reaction score
59
Location
Bristle, CUBA (the County that Used to Be Avon)
I bought some Makita strip a couple of years ago, and was extremely annoyed to find the new ones are not the same thickness as the original ones. It throws off the bevel adjustment, by a hard-to-measure amount.

With hindsight, I suggest getting some double-sided tape and moving the worn strip outwards a bit so you can cut a new clean edge. That will at least buy you some time. Obviously you need to measure the rubber thickness carefully before buying replacement, although, if the DW track can be used either way round, a pair of new strips won't upset it, no matter what thickness they are.
 

Kev

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2004
Messages
243
Reaction score
11
Location
Kent
Thanks all, will check out Petes YouTube channel. Hadn't even crossed my mind to move them over a bit and re-cut (can't see the wood for the trees etc!) will try that, just ened to order some double sided tape.

Interesting idea the ply, my only reservation would be the thickness. The edge strips are just over a millemetre thick (maybe 2 at most). If you have anything thicker will stop the friction strips from doing their job properly. That said if it works, it works.
 

SammyQ

Established Member
Joined
12 Apr 2005
Messages
2,417
Reaction score
149
Location
A wee house on a hill
by sammy.se » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:58 am
SammyQ wrote:
Thin ply, double-sided tape. It works!

Sam.
Is it better?
Sammy.se, yes, it is. The ply is more rigid than the rubber, leaves a clean edging, cheap as chips, replaceable. Just need GOOD double-sided tape...DAMHIKT...

Sam
 

Kev

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2004
Messages
243
Reaction score
11
Location
Kent
SammyQ":3vfyihpw said:
by sammy.se » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:58 am
SammyQ wrote:
Thin ply, double-sided tape. It works!

Sam.
Is it better?
Sammy.se, yes, it is. The ply is more rigid than the rubber, leaves a clean edging, cheap as chips, replaceable. Just need GOOD double-sided tape...DAMHIKT...

Sam
Just on that what tape do you use - any recommendations?
 

Cornersruns

Member
Joined
8 Jul 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
Reading
For the splinter strips I use this stuff Splinter strip, Just measure the thickness and width of the original and search for similar spec.
Double sided tape Tesa Tape I've tried other cheaper tapes but the Tesa works best and is worth the premium price.
Also the grip strip I use is this Soft Neoprene
Not advocating Amazon for any of these it's just where I found the best prices at the time.
 

Kev

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2004
Messages
243
Reaction score
11
Location
Kent
Cornersruns":3rnz7kes said:
For the splinter strips I use this stuff Splinter strip, Just measure the thickness and width of the original and search for similar spec.
Double sided tape Tesa Tape I've tried other cheaper tapes but the Tesa works best and is worth the premium price.
Also the grip strip I use is this Soft Neoprene
Not advocating Amazon for any of these it's just where I found the best prices at the time.
Thanks Cornersuns, really helpful.
 

SammyQ

Established Member
Joined
12 Apr 2005
Messages
2,417
Reaction score
149
Location
A wee house on a hill
Yup. Tesa. 3M not far behind. Just has to be fresh. Old stuff seems to lose its adhesion; I got into a right horlicks when I had to use acroll from the depths of the toolbox...

Sam
 
Top