Removing twist from thick boards for coffee table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monions2112

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Not sure if this is the right section for this post, but here goes.

I am fairly new to woodworking and have the basic workshop set up with mitre saw, various saws, work bench etc.

My first projects have been quite successful, things like drawers and draw fronts have gone very well.

The next project was a suggestion from my wife for a rustic coffee table based on thick scaffold boards and 6x2 joists. This looked easy, so I got the wood from the Oxford Reclaimed wood centre - what could go wrong? The issue is that most of the boards, even though thick are twisted, most rock by almost 1cm when laid flat. This is too much to make the top flat enough to use and look nice - I know I am going for the rustic look, but it still has to look professional.

My first thought was to go back and find straighter ones, but the more I looked into this on this forum I come to the conclusion that this is the nature of the beast - so I need to be able to work around it. I don't have a P/T, and even if I did, I don't believe that would be a quick solution as the boards will need to be straight before they go through the thicknesser.

So my thinking is to get a power sander and spend time getting the boards flat that way - I've looked through various forums and YouTube and this looks like the best solution. As there is quite a lot to remove, I don't fancy using a hand plane, and to be honest I have never go the hang of those, they always jar and pull lumps out of the wood.

Am I on the right track?

Well, you've given up on the easiest way....the hand-plane. You'll have to do something more complex. Whatever you do will entail removing the surface of the timber, and thus the "rustic" look.