Prime oak?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Linus

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
As a total newbie to buying hardwood timber, I had occasion to buy some European KD oak for a chair I plan to make. I collected the wood from a local sawmill but self select was not an option due to current regs. I didn't inspect closely but was assured this is prime oak, which I assume is QFA according to current grading. One of the lengths is pictured below and I know Custard did a brilliant blog on buying hardwood. For those who know what to expect when buying from a sawmill, would you say this sort of inclusion is permissible under grading guidelines, or have I been sold a pup? Product is 27mm sawn square edge.
20210527_135813.jpg

Looks alright.

Remember it's not plastic you're buying, but parts of a living thing.

It's now down to your skill as a woodworker to cut any small defects out to obtain the best of what looks like an excellent piece of wood.

It's unclear at this stage whether the perceived blemish is in the middle of the length of the board or toward one end. Or even if it goes right through. If there's no sign or minimal blemish on the other side, try to work it into a section that is out of sight with the better side prominent. If you can work it, you could arrange your cutting so that the part is in a tenon or something like that.

I'd be worried if the whole load had unwanted growth streaks all over it, but it's not much to be concerned about if that's all there is. That's how the tree grows. I guess that we've all got a few moles and blotchy bits!

Some years ago, I bought a load of Quartered Oak middle boards cut T&T, waney-edged, pith and all with some lovely medullary rays.