Newbie router station WIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DazW72

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a total newbie at woodworking, but here's the WIP of my first creation. Haven't got the room for a permanent router bench, so it's a flip up. Framework is welded Dexion racking, struts are 20mm square steel tube. Top is 3-1/2 by 2-1/2ft, 2 sheets 18mm MDF laminated both sides, edged in Iroko. 110V Freud FT2000 going into it.
I've still got to finish the edging, plumb in dust extraction (Record RSDE1 with a 0.5micron filter). finish the fence and build a NVR switch!!! Why oh why can't i buy a 110V NVR switch rated to 2000W?
table%20down.jpg

table%20up.jpg

DazW72,

That's brilliant!!! I've been thinking about taking over half of the garage as extra space, and that looks like just what I need to do.

Excellent work!

Fecn

Daz,

Nice looking table.
If that was in my shop I would make a hardboard cover to clip on when its stored, to stop the top getting marked by other things falling on to it, but then I still have to much 'stuff' in there. :whistle:
NVR for 110 volt would need huge contacts to handle the high current drawn by the tool. :(

Hi daz,

Can't you use a normal 240 volt NVR and have it switch off the step down transformer that I assume you will be using.

Love the idea of a folding table :D

Alan.

Yep, now have a nasty looking hardboard cover for it. Top laminate in front of the track has been relpaced once as it got damaged. Quite lucky as a mate gave me 1/2 a sheet and i had just enough left. When I found out the price of it I nearly **** myself (£100 per full sheet Polyrey P066 pearlescent white).
NVR hopefully wont be a problem, Radio Spares do 110v relays/switches/contactors over and above what I need. If all else fails the I'll put a 230V NVR before the transformer.

What a great idea!