New to turning

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuckmeabone

Reaction score
I’m new to wood turning and I have been given a Sealey sm1100 10 speed, which has saved me a ton of cash for getting all the tools I need as they are not cheap, looking online they do a blue sm1100 but this one is green, anyway It has no chuck, and I can’t seem to find any info on the thread size.

Could someone post a link to a chuck that would fit this lathe.

Thanks for your help.

Hi there Chuck
i had one of those lathes given too me a couple of years back….the thread is definitely 3/4 16tpi…..I bought a cheaply chuck from rutlands to get me going .
however I know own an Axminster bench job by with M33 thread….if you intend updating in future Tris is right…. Get an M33 chuck with a 3/4 insert…save you in long run…

steve

this seems to be a duplicate thread - more answers in the other thread…

Thanks for the reply’s , so if I get this adapter Lathe spindle thread adaptor - 3/4 x 16tpi to M33 x 3.5

Then I would just need to search for a m33 chuck, so the chuck can then be used on any lathe with a 3/4 or m33 head.

Apologies for the double post, I only joined yesterday and needed permissions I didn’t realise that my original post would get posted after permission granted to forum, so made the post again this morning.

Thanks for the reply’s , so if I get this adapter Lathe spindle thread adaptor - 3/4 x 16tpi to M33 x 3.5

Then I would just need to search for a m33 chuck, so the chuck can then be used on any lathe with a 3/4 or m33 head.

Apologies for the double post, I only joined yesterday and needed permissions I didn’t realise that my original post would get posted after permission granted to forum, so made the post again this morning.
That looks just the job, cheaper than a lot on eBay and likely better quality.