New member - moving US>UK

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ardyne

Reaction score
I have been woodworking for a few decades. Due to personal reasons, my family plans to move to UK in 2024-2025 (I am from UK).

I acquired a number of Jet tools - mostly 20 years ago. I used them with care and they are in good shape. I am very happy with them. Since I am committed to taking a container for this move, I am tempted to bring them. I am familiar with a number of issues here. Tool prices much higher in UK than US. Selling tools in US and buying in UK big hassle and expense (I am not in a big city so selling into a small market and transport big hassle / expense). Potential for being incompatible with current safety rules. Import rules/expense? - but old tools and strictly personal use. I have looked into remotoring. Jet used to provide a useful parts website but it now makes no sense to me and I am unsure they would sell 240V 50 Hz motors to me for my purpose. I only use one power tool at a time - plus dust collector sometimes. Consequently, I am thinking about remotoring the collector and getting a power converter "powerxchanger" (about $1500) to handle the rest of the tools. The price of motors seems to vary from about $200 to $1000 depending on quality etc so going with a converter appears logical vs. remotoring everything. I may offload some tools but I possess approx - table saw, bandsaw, jointer, drill press and lathe. I have a few sanders too - all with synchronous 60Hz motors. I also understand that the value, if I tried to sell these tools later in the UK, may be low.
Welcome thoughts - especially from anyone having dealt with a similar issue or whether they investigated it and came to different solution.