Name this woodworking joint

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodypk

Established Member
Reaction score
Afternoon all,

I've a very simple question to ask and I'm sure many of you will know the answer. I've googled it but I just can't seem to see anything for sure. I'm relatively new to woodworking (started playing at it around 2019) so I've still tonnes to learn. This seams like one of those questions that you sometimes think about, never ask about and therefore never actually find the answer. A bit like when you meet someone, forget to ask their name and then have to find a sneaky way to find out without actually having to ask...

I want to know the name of a very simple woodworking joint and whether it comes under the category of one of the many types of mortise and tenon joints.

If you were to create a blind mortise in the face edge of a board/post and fully insert a "tenon" without actually reducing the height and width of the male stock to create any sort of shoulder to sit flush against the board/post face, would this be a mortise and tenon joint or named under some other type of joint? Think of it as a full height and full width tenon, maybe?

I've used this type of joint, along with blind and through mortise and tenon joints before, I just never know what to call it...

Are you talking about eg inserting a 50mm piece of timber into eg 100 mm therefore not reducing the 50 mm section in any way - I’m no expert on joints but it certainly sounds like a tenon of sorts or a type of housing joint - a picture/ photo will help others to help you out..

Drawing1.JPG
I think this is what you are describing. I don't think it has a name because it's rarely used. I can only think of a farm gate construction:-
gate.jpg

It has some serious shortcomings compared with a normal shouldered M&T.