my first complete drawer with hand made dovetails

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

engineer one

Established Member
Reaction score
having talked a lot, i thought it was about time to learn how to post pictures, and also show my attempts to learn handcrafts

so here we have my first drawer with hand made dovetails on each corner.

th_dovetailanddrawertools2.jpg
[/url]

so because i am still learning, the pictures are not really in the right order.
however, what we have here is a complete series.
first couple of pictures show the finished drawer, and the tools used to make it (not really a gloat honest :twisted: )

one of the tools you can see is the veritas dovetail guide which holds your saw with a magnet so you can keep the angle nice and true. best used with a thin japanese style saw, not least because the block is too big for the ln dovetail saw. the jig is able to be placed on both sides of the joint so you can do the tails and pins, you just change where the clamp fits on the back.

next you can see the four corners, the first couple which were real dogs after first making, but remember i did cut the sides so that they were about 1/16th too long outside. second couple of corners were getting better, and the final corner ain't too bad at all.

next i fudged the really big gaps, and filled them with offies. what is interesting is that although some of the gaps were quite big, the corners would not pull out without glue(phew :roll: )

finally i shaved back all the corners and ended up with a drawer which is ALMOST square, in both dimensions, ie the error is about 1/8th in the corners, my mistake because the bessey clamps got in the way of measuring :? and one of the corners is a little low.