Mitre saw - Rutland V Makita

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackie H

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have recently been looking at a new mitre saw and fancied the Makita L1019L @ circa £650. A few days ago Rutland announced a new mitre saw with a pre-order price of £150.
The Makita is a 260 mm blade and the Rutland is 210 mm. However when I compared the specs the cutting capacities appear surprisingly similar given the difference in blade sizes. The motor rating for the Rutland is 1800W v Makita @ 1510W.
Obviously Makita has a great quality reputation, Rutland perhaps less so. The price difference is massive though and for myself as a hobbyist I cant help but think about the Rutland as a viable option.

I am equally thinking that maybe and I am comparing apples and oranges and have missed something. I am therefore keen to hear comments/thoughts from other members.

https://www.rutlands.com/products/sliding-mitre-saw-210mm

https://www.makitauk.com/product/ls1019l.html

Thanks, Jackie

What are you looking to make because that will determine what saw you will need, you are looking at saws with a wide price range, £150 to £650 but do not expect the same results and when looking at the power rating look at output power and not input to get a fair comparison. There are other saws with prices between the ones you are looking at so why not get something in the middle ? Personally I would look at Bosch, Makita, Dewalt & maybe Metabo as better options than the cheap end of the market.

https://www.toolstop.co.uk/dewalt-dws777-mitre-saw-with-xps-216mm-240v-p73503/

https://www.manomano.co.uk/p/makita-ls0815fl-slide-compound-mitre-saw-240v-172861?product_id=1301410

The other thing to bear in mind is space, when the rails stick out the back you need clearance to the wall behind but with some saws they are out the front like