Kity woodworking machines

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pmur

Reaction score
Hi there,
I have never used a forum before but I feel that now might be a good time to start. I am considering investing in a multipurpose woodworking machine and I have seen the Kity brand. Is there anyone out there that could advise me if they are a good bet or is there a superior make around the same price or poss cheaper? I like to make the odd piece of furniture and have struggled so far with an old saw table and a hammer and chisel to cut the mortises. I see that the Kity comes with an optional mortiser and again would appreciate some advice as to the quality and value for money.
Thank you for reading this.
Peter

There is not much cheaper about and what there is is not much good.

I've had a Bestcombi2000 for about 10 years, gets used a lot as it has to earn me a living not just for hobby use. Its a very capable machine for its size and price, have a look at a couple of my albums, all done with the Kity and a few other tools.

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v156/ ... Furniture/

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v156/ ... Furniture/

Before that I had a K5 machine that had the Morticer but I would say you are better off spending your money on either a chisel morticer or just using a router and or chisels.

Jason

Hi there,
Do you mean that a morticing attachment to the Kity is not as good as a bench morticer?Thanks for the advice. Nice looking stuff on your site by the way.
Peter

Yes. The slot morticer does have its uses and is well made but unless it was being sold as a good package deal you would be better off saving the money. Then if you find the need for mortices get a chisel morticer or just use your router.

J