Kitchen worktop advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wallace

Established Member
Reaction score
hi all, I've been promising me lady a new kitchen for 2 years now but keep finding machines to restore. I think she has been more than patient.
She would like granite but that's beyond the budget, she quite liked a worktop called Exillis which is paper bonded in resin. Has anyone used this stuff before, how does it join and whats the finish like when you cut out for a Belfast?
Her next choice would be oak but she does not like the orangey colour, is it feasible to remove any finish, stain to desired colour and then oil?
I don't really like the way oak worktops are made from small blocks, I would prefer it with a full stave.
Has anyone bought in oak and made their own tops, is it cost effective?
Thanks

You can cheat if your making the oak worktops! Base with say 1/4" of oak on top with a thick lipping of oak. I.e make your own engineered oak top. Very very cost effective, and unless you take the work tops off no one will know they arnt solid oak. It's my preferred solution. Qtr sawm to reveal the 'tiger' strip looks brilliant.

You can steam bend the strips to go around corners , round units, which looks stunning and something quite unique as you create a worktop that has no join.

Thanks for that, whats best as a core? maybe that moisture resistant chip board stuff used for lofts.

Did some constructional veneer walnut for our tops. Laid on 2 sheets of 18mm ply. Been great and just have a solid front

WBP ply, preferably marine would be my first choice if it were for my kitchen, you can use MRMDF or chipboard.