HVLP Spraying for MDF/ Decorating built in storage

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alpinist

Reaction score
I work as a carpenter/renovator and often make built in storage or fit kitchens and bathrooms. One recent job specified Farrow and ball eggshell, which took inumerable coats, otherwise I tend to go with two water based primer/undercoats and two oil based finish coats.

Any ideas on an easy to use spray system? The apollo Spraymate for example? Plus which water or oil based paints easier to use/most effective? I tend to use Dulux Trade Oil based Satinwood if asked. Thanks in advance.

Alpi,

The problem you are having is that F & B paint is rubbish 8) Thinning any oil based paint suitable for spraying it counter productive as you will need more coats to give an exceptable finish.

I use Dulux eggshell for painted stuff but it is never sprayed, although I have tried it .......It is the most messy paint you could spray as well as having a health issue. Dulux do not recommend spraying for a reason.

To spray furniture you would be better off looking at the Morrells range of AC or pre-cat finishes which can be made in any colour, either way you will need a dedicated area for finishing. This stuff dries in no time where the oil bases paint takes 16 hours.

I have now knowledge of the Apollo spraymate but I do have two Apollo 700's which are excellent, The most important thing with a spray system is the gun and the Spraymate gun is nothing like the Apollo 700 or the current models.

CNC Paul":1elzbpcf said:
Alpi,

The problem you are having is that F & B paint is rubbish 8) ...

i could not disagree with you more! F&B produce far superior paint to the watered down muck that Dulux supply.