How thick rough boards to start with before planing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sams93

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi

So I am wanting to order some oak, I need 2.4m long, 150mm wide boards at 38mm thick, but the cost was extreme for PAR. (8ft x 6" x 1.5")

I am thinking of buying them rough sawn and then planing and thicknessing them at home, but I was wondering what a guide starting point should be for the rough sawn thickness to order, as I appreciate there is going to be twist/bow/cup that I am going to have to get out.

Thanks,

Last edited:
2" would be 1-7/8 sawn max leaving you 3/6 each side you plane off presuming you have a P/T

Others will be along with more experience.

All depends on what condition the boards are that you purchased and what equipment you have . I’m no expert but it’s a lot of work to get rough sawn to a decent finish. Yes the cost for par oak at 2.4 m is close to a £100.00 but how long will it take you to get a 20mm rough board to say 16 mm . Have a look at selco builders who carry oak par but 15-20 £ per meter + vat .

Hi

So I am wanting to order some oak, I need 2.4m boards at 1.5" thick, but the cost was extreme for PAR.

I am thinking of buying them rough sawn and then planing and thicknessing them at home, but I was wondering what a guide starting point should be for the rough sawn thickness to order, as I appreciate there is going to be twist/bow/cup that I am going to have to get out.

Thanks,
Ordering 1.5" PAR means taking it from standard sawn size of two inches so are wasting a lot of wood. PAR is not a good way to buy timber - it'll be bent in a few days or so anyway.
Rule of thumb says you probably loose 1/4" in planing sawn stuff