Hi from Ontario, Canada

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave Ellison

Reaction score
Good afternoon,
I am a retired mechanical engineer and have a wood/metal shop in my basement. Got into buying and refurbishing old tools...power hand tools, hand planes, axes, hammers, drill presses, pipe wrenches and somehow got right into vises (or vices). Have well over 150 waiting for me to work on. Spend over half my time researching old vise (vice) companies from Canada, USA, England and Europe to help me figure out what is worth the effort and age. There have been many UK companies providing vises (vices) to Canada and also influenced the design of local manufacturers as well. Looking for catalog pages and company information sources to help me with my hobby. I think there are vice designs sold in Canada, built in England, but not sold in England and originally not sold in USA. Have lots of good info to share with you as well.....
Dave,

Welcome to the forum Dave.
Should you be tight on space you could send me a pattern makers vice, especially a Tucker, and I'll keep it nice and dry in my heated shop for you. 😇

Pete

Welcome to the forum Dave.
Should you be tight on space you could send me a pattern makers vice, especially a Tucker, and I'll keep it nice and dry in my heated shop for you. 😇

Pete
Mostly into metal working vises, not Tuckers or Emmerts or undermount woodworking vises. Just run into Lee Valley and pick up their version of the Tucker vise. Thank you though !

Mostly into metal working vises, not Tuckers or Emmerts or undermount woodworking vises. Just run into Lee Valley and pick up their version of the Tucker vise. Thank you though !