Help with oil finish on teak pilothouse! A tale of two doors

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phoinikos

Reaction score
Any help getting this finish to look at all uniform would be greatly appreciated!!

I am completely new to woodworking and finishes. We moved into a barge in London with a great teak pilothouse. The varnish, though, was so old that it had completely worn through in several areas, leaving bare rotted/graying/pitted wood. Trying to be useful, I thought I'd remove the old varnish then refinish with teak oil.

resized1.1.jpg

What I did:

On the LEFT door, I sanded only. The right-hand vertical piece of this door is the look I'd hoped to get. I sanded it down using only 120 grit paper on a 1/3 sheet sheet sander. It took near 2 hours for just that one piece!

Hoping to speed things up (I know, always the culprit), I switched to 60 grit paper, followed by 120 for the rest of the left door. It was...ok, but it seemed that I got a much grainer(?) appearance with more blotching, particularly on the left-hand vertical piece.

So, on the RIGHT door, I used a varnish stripper. Worked it in for a few minutes, let it sit for 20-30 minutes and then scraped and used a wire scourer to get the gunk off. THEN I sanded, starting at 60 grit, then 120, then 240.

Now what??? Searching the interwebs, I'm a bit bewildered by all of the options:
1) BLO: I like the idea of an oil finish that just needs some a few coats reapplied with a rag every few months. But I worry that boiled linseed oil won't provide the necessary UV protection.

2) Tung oil: Seems more protective, but also looks more demanding to use and much more expensive.