Hegner Scroll Saw Speed Control

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frhodes

Reaction score
I have just taken up scroll sawing so I am a complete beginner, I have purchased a second hand Hegner Multicut 2 single speed, and now think I should have done a bit more research before I made the purchase.
until I gain some experience I am finding the saw to fast for my ability, would any member have any advice as to attaching a speed controller to the machine or should I persevere until I can handle the speed, any advice will be much appreciated.
Frank

Take lots of scrap wood of various thicknesses and just cut. Any shapes, trying different TPI blades, till you get the feeling of cutting. Do NOT push the wood into the blade, let the saw do the cutting.
Try some 90 degree turns.
You soon find out if you are cutting too fast, the blade then assumes its own mind and that can be a mess.
My small very old multicut is 1 speed.

Those saws are powered by induction motors, speed control is not straightforward on that style of motor. It isn't something I would try jury rigging except as a project in its own right.

If you want speed control my only practical suggestion would be to get in touch with Hegner and see if you can get the parts to make up a conversion kit as spares. It'll be easily three figures given Hegner's spares pricing, if that route is possible and you go down it I would ask you come back here and report on your experience, I don't have a Hegner myself but I'm sure there would be plenty of interest.

As for coping with the speed your only alternative method of slowing things down is finer blades but the finer the blade the more prone they are to break which is the other issue as a beginner.