Hand Cut Dovetails

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slim

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all.

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to dovetails. However, I am managing to get nice clean looking joints. My question is, how tight should they be? I have just cut some half blind dovetails for a drawer and I had to hammer the tails in using a block and quite a lot of force. Should they be this tight? or should I be able to assemble them by hand?

Thanks in advance.

Simon
Tight is good - until you split the joint :lol:
Try fitting the joint half way, pulling them apart and then check for the shiny areas - these will be the high spots. Gently relieve them with a chisel and fit again.
The denser the timber the easier the joint splits - Rob Cosman always uses Poplar for the sides which compresses very nicely thank you very much :wink:
Hope this helps (and lets see some photo's)
Philly :D

I'd say a 'push fit' if you know what I mean ?

light taps with a hammer and block to assemble/disassemble.(if you cant disassemble , its too tight)

but I am no 'expert' :) - only made a few and read alot !

If you follow the Cosman rule you only fit the DT once and a tap with a block of wood and a mallet is acceptable.

If you haven't seen his DVD or the book then I'd recommend them.

I subsribe to the practise of fitting the joint a third or half the way in to get a general idea of the fit - I find this works well. I would only fit it all the way in once, as Waka says. I think the Cosman suggestion of paring away the leading edges of the tails on the unseen part of the joint makes a lot of difference in getting it started when assembling.