Problem with Silver line dovetail jig and Bosch advance trim router

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard The Fifth

Reaction score
I am trying to make dovetail joints as a complete newbie to woodworking. I have a silver line jig and a Bosch Advanced trim router and a range of sizes of dovetail jig bits. No matter what I do my joints are sloppy. Tried raising and lowering the bit etc. I think I know what the issue is, but the fix will involve £££’s so wanted to check first...

The jig is 1/2 inch has spaced finger guides. The router guide is 12 mm meaning the router has some movement in the guide. If I go down one side of the guide I end up with a joint tight on one side and loose on the other. If I go down one side of the guide and back up the other side I end up with a joint loose on both sides!

The think the issue is a 12mm router guide in a 1/2 spaced jig, but.... no one seems to make a 1/2 guide for a Bosch 18v-8 advanced trim router, and the trend universal base plate doesn’t fit it.

Is this the issue? Or is there another fix / issue? Do I need to buy a different router that accommodates a 1/2 inch guide?

Kit
Bosch Advanced Trim Router 18v-8
Silver line Dovetail Jig
12mm MDF
Complete Noob!

Thanks

Attachments

• 6A4629CF-9D49-4F62-9756-223AC7452BB0.jpeg
    6A4629CF-9D49-4F62-9756-223AC7452BB0.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • 0C31F118-4F8A-4A67-A0EF-0ACFEEA04EFA.jpeg
    0C31F118-4F8A-4A67-A0EF-0ACFEEA04EFA.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
Those photos suggest that the depth of cut is too shallow.
However if the guide bush doesn't snugly fit the jig and the cutter isn't properly cantered you're unlikely to ever get decent results.