Green oak advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpooley

Established Member
Reaction score
I am about to start building a conservatory on an old barn conversion and the design is post and beam oak.
I assume one must/should use green oak ?

I havnt even looked at suppliers yet and have never worked with oak like this before is there any advice you can offer please?

some Post and beam buildings use Douglas fir I am told.

I assume this would be easier/cheaper than oak?

thanks
Mike

Mike, I am no expert in this, but have had some dealings with green oak.

It moves a hell of lot during drying, which can take several years. This leads to shakes and cracks which some customers object to/think is a fault.

It rusts and blunts your tools something chronic! keep them well oiled,clean and sharpen afterwards.

It's flaming heavy - and I do mean heavy!!! - my fire place has a piece of green oak over it. 12" x 6" x 5ft. It took two of us to lift and position it (30 inches off the floor) with a third person to actually get it in the exact position needed.

It is hard to plane/sand due to the densityof it, but that may vary a bit by type.

When I last looked at Douglas Fir ( a good while back), that too was very expensive, though not quite to Oak prices. DF can be as tough as old stringy boots at times, so choose carefully. It would probably work out cheaper though and should dry out a lot quicker. I would also guess it to be a lot lighter?

Woody