good book for spindle moulding

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeffinfrance

Established Member
Reaction score
hi guys,

any reccomendations?

i am about to start doing some curved work and i am realising my limitations. the straight stuff with fences hasn't been too difficult to work out. but this a different ball game.....or so it seems.

jeff

Hi Jeff
There isn't one.
Th "best" is Stephenson. My copy is old and very dodgy. I believe there is a later revision, which may be better, I don't know.

I did think about producing a DVD about one, but came to the conclusion that, as it is not a hobbyist's machine the market would be too small to justify the work. I'm no expert myself either, but that is another matter.

My advice would be to find someone who can give you proper training. More expensive than a book, I know.
S

hi steve,

thanks for the tip, i'll do a search for it.

just rewatched the felder dvd and i've got the gist. need to source some guide rings now. i've noticed the felder rings are sold in 5mm increments of diameter. does that mean, if the tool diameter is inbetween the 5mm steps, the template has to be adjusted accordingly. just off to check my diameters.

jeff

Jeff
The diameter of the curve at the front of the ring should match your cutter block. The diameter is bigger fore and aft, so that you can approach the cutting action gently rather than with a sudden kick. Like a lead-in pin on a router table.

S

so the ring is eliptical?!?!

now i'm really confused, they look circular in the catalogues.

for sizing, i was thinki8ng of getting a 120mm ring (my tool is 117mm in a 115mm block) and setting my template back 3mm from the desired finished edge.

am i on the right track?