Glueing pallet wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stenik

Newby to the world of woodturning
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Morning all,
So I have a question about glueing strips together to be able to make a larger blank. As I'm a complete beginner where turning wood is concerned I've sourced some new pallet wood strips, so no holes or nails left in. I want to cut and glue some strips together to be able to make some cheap blanks for me to practice my turning with so I hopefully don't ruin some decent timber when I get some

So do I need to sand the pallet wood smooth or can it just be glued up.
I know this is so basic for most of you out there but please be gentle with me as I have no idea and YouTube just shows them glueing and clamping.
Thanks in advance
Steve

If the new pallet wood is simply sawn and not planed, you may get a reasonably secure blank if glued and clamped, but as you turn it the glue lines will show very clearly.

Sanding - the surface may appear smooth but not flat as the edges will tend to round over.

The best way is to plane the pallet wood before cutting to length - it will then be smooth and flat. A thicknesser makes the task easier!

Good Morning to you Sir,
Firstly the glue type. A PVA would be my choice. It'll be kind to your turning tools and it's cheap. I expect this is what you will have seen on the videos.
PVA works at a microscopic level so, ideally, the surface should be as smooth as possible, ie, it is not a recognised gap filler. However in your case the pallet material is probably sufficiently flat to give an acceptable bond, particularly as it's for practice purposes.
Brian

If the new pallet wood is simply sawn and not planed, you may get a reasonably secure blank if glued and clamped, but as you turn it the glue lines will show very clearly.