Glue advice needed...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stuartmarquis

Reaction score
I'm a novice to woodworking. I have a passion for table tennis and I want to start making my own table tennis bats. The basic concept is pretty straightforward. A "core" wood which is maybe 3-4 mm thick (most likely balsa due to its light-weight) and then a couple of veneers of a harder wood glued on either side. The issue I'm having is that when dealing with such thin sheets of wood there's a tendency for it to not lay perfectly flat. I basically need a glue that will set rigid so that when the wood is pressed flat whilst the glue is drying the bat then holds that rigid flat shape when its removed from the press. I've tried a couple of bats with PVA Gorilla wood glue and also Titebond Liquid Hide Glue, but both these glues seem to be somewhat flexible even when cured, meaning that when the bat is removed from the flat press it can have a tendency to re-warp.

I need a glue that going to set rigid and hold the plies flat even if the core wood naturally wants to warp a bit. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Try Cascamite - the stuff on the market now is OK. One of it's failing in chair joints etc. is that it is quite brittle so it may well be OK for your use. It's used for laminated work because there is little/no creep. There are people here far more knowledgeable that me, so you'll undoubtedly get other/better suggestions.
Welcome, by the way - let us know how it goes.

Try Cascamite - the stuff on the market now is OK. One of it's failing in chair joints etc. is that it is quite brittle so it may well be OK for your use. It's used for laminated work because there is little/no creep. There are people here far more knowledgeable that me, so you'll undoubtedly get other/better suggestions.
Welcome, by the way - let us know how it goes.