First Garden Bench - almost complete WIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alan2001

Established Member
Reaction score
An embarrassingly long time ago, my wife asked me to build her a simple garden bench. As I am a beginner, and also wanted to impress her, I've made a lot of mistakes, spent far too much money, and learned a lot along the way. She requested something 'chunky', so after many designs and revisions, that is what she got. I'm painfully aware of some of the flaws in this piece, but I'm really happy that it's almost done now and I can move onto something else. I hesitate to ask for a critique yet, cos it would be like shooting fish in a barrel. ;)

It's all made from 144mm x 44 mm dressed pine. The legs are both two short pieces of that, glued & dowelled together before being cut to shape. The angled design of the legs was inspired by traditional Scottish Baronial architecture, believe it or not, intended to give the impression of strength and stability. The stretcher was a late addition to the design, which I had to fight for with the client who didn't see the point of it. "Not being wobbly" was one of the main reasons for it, obviously. ;)

img1356medium.jpg

img6558medium.jpg

The long side pieces are just screwed onto the side of the main seat piece, with their weight thankfully also supported by the legs. Getting those legs to the right shape for a tight fit with the top of the bench was a complete nightmare, especially at one corner. It was at this point that I realised that my cheap crappy plastic Stanley carpenters square wasn't really square at all. But instead of doing them all again from scratch, I bodged up a sliver of matching pine and inserted it in that corner. Non woodworkers won't notice, and I hope you lot would be too classy to point it out. ;)

img6574medium.jpg