First Workbench Build - Unique design

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe1975

Established Member
Reaction score
This is my first post. I am new to woodworking and want to learn how to design and build freestanding furniture. Thought the first thing I need is a workbench!
Here is the workbench I designed for use with heavy duty quick release clamps. I did a lot of research and planning. I wanted something relatively portable that could be used outside or inside, and conceived something between a traditional workbench and a sawhorse. I think it is quite unique in terms of design and philosophy. The cutting was was all done with a circular saw and the lap joints were chiselled out. It is solid.
I am on a tight budget and built this from left over construction lumber. It cost me £8 for the carriage bolts. The longer clamps can clamp wood up to 2” thick to the side of the bench. It is proving extremely versatile and there is nothing yet that I haven’t been able to hold and work on.

The shelf is sloped slightly for easy presentation, and security, of tools. The bench is asymmetrical, with one vertical side (normal working side) and the other ‘b’ side has the legs on an angle (see second photo) for stability. The ‘b’ side horizontal beam can be stood on for getting over work. The top edge is planed flush with the vertical legs so pieces can be clamped to the legs. My original idea was to drill holes in the top and the legs for bench dogs but so far haven’t felt the need for them, I just clamp bits of wood to the top to use as holds. The clamps are very powerful.