Festool saw with 3rd party track

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garden Shed Projects

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I am about to invest in a Festool tracksaw and was wondering if there is any loss in performance using a 3rd party track, Evolution or Excell. I am thinkink particularly about accuracy, ease of use and general enjoyment of the machine. I am a hobbyist woodworker and a bit of a tool addict so it won't be used in a professional environment.

I was originally going down the Makita route and while I think this is a good bit of kit a few reports and reviews recently, on here and else where, have suggested that I could end up wishing I had spent the extra few pounds and bought the Festool. The price difference isn't as great as I originally thought when I shopped around.

I have done a bit of research and the 2 mentioned are compatable and significantly cheaper that the festool track. Any thoughts or experience greatly received.

I use the festool with Makita tracks, I gather the excel are identical so you shouldn't have any issues. If it has the ridge for Makita's anti tipping lip you might run into compatibility issues with some accessories but it's not been an issue for me yet.

Festool saw is definitely worth the money over Makita in my personal experience, wish I'd gone for festool from the beginning.

Hello @Garden Shed Projects,
If you have not purchased your Festool saw yet then I would join @deema in advising to look at Mafell first.
I have used both Festool and Mafell/Bosh tracks for all sorts of tasks and IMHO ease-of-use/accuracy wise Mafell/Bosh track is a better choice.
Mafell track saw itself is superb.
The only thing which is sort of better in Festool style track area at the moment is a wider range of track accessories, but producers like benchdogs.co.uk have been gradually filling the gaps.