Is Festool the King of Dust?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanf

Established Member
Reaction score
I am slowly (very slowly) upgrading my tools and have mostly chosen Makita and been very happy. I am now looking at things that are more likely to create dust and really want to minimise my exposure by catching as much at source as possible before looking at air filtration, etc. For things like plunge saws and routers that are likely to create a lot of fine dust are Festool a significant improvement over cheaper but still decent quality brands such as Makita? I like the idea of the Festool CTL/CTM dust extractor plus plunge saw, being able to use the same power cable with a router, track mounting the router and a lot of the other little niceties that Festool offers, but can’t ignore the fact that they are a lot more expensive (I am only a hobbyist after all). Festool are not out of budget, but it will be a much slower upgrade process if I was to choose them. I have been to a local dealer to put my hands on some kit, but would appreciate any thoughts from more experienced people please

Many thanks

Sean

The real dust monsters are 1. router 2. sander 3. tracksaw
If you DON'T go Festool, I think your options are
1. look at the Bosch GOF1250 - not as good but cheaper
2. lots of choice here as many sanders have a decent hose connection. Look at the Mirka Deros - personally think it's dust extraction and ergonomics are better than Festool, but they don't have a model that competes with the Rotex - or at the cheaper end, a Metabo SXE450
3. look at the Mafell tracksaw - better than the Festool REBQ55