Faithfull Diamond sharpening Stone - Anyone used one?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrDavidRoberts

Established Member
Reaction score
I want to purchase a new sharpening stone, I have never used the diamond ones before so have no experience with them.
I found this from faithfull https://www.amazon.co.uk/Faithfull-Tool ... B015JMIPP0
Personally I have mixed experience with faithfull tools, some have been ok,some have been very bad so not sure what to think about this one.

I see it's quite popular so maybe anyone has bought one and used for prolonged time periods?
What's the quality of it like? What kind of sharpening loads is it able to handle for how long? If it lasts only a few months,than I'm not really sure if it's worth it since once the diamonds are gone the tool has no use unlike with traditional stones.
I will use it to sharpen plane blades and the grit choice 400/1000 seems very good on it.

Oh if someone has much better stone suggestion for not a lot more than I'm all ears :)

Never used them but ITS has ultex one which I've found to be very good. There are several threads on here about them but the search facility doesn't appear to have been updated to the new api

I have that faithful one. It's not bad, appears to be pretty flat, however after a while, I had a niggling feeling like it was losing its abrasiveness.

I've since switched to the scary sharp method using a sheet of tempered glass, which I find much better

bugbear":1bac9gj0 said:
Lidl do cheaper ones which might suit you. :D

BugBear
It really gets old after the first few times...
Triple-facePalm.jpg

MattRoberts":2zfaiqg9 said:
I have that faithful one. It's not bad, appears to be pretty flat, however after a while, I had a niggling feeling like it was losing its abrasiveness.