Drilling through the axial centre of a one meter length of wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard6299

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a complete newbie. I'm wanting to be able to drill through the axial centre of a one meter length of round dowel/wood. The drill of course would fit in the tailstock (I'd need to modify my current tailstock BTW). I'd need to be using at least a 500mm long drill. So, how is the task I've set for accomplished in terms of practicality? What do I need to consider, etc? Thank you. Rich

What diameter?

With drilling, the length/diameter ratio has a big effect on the process. A 500mm long 3mm dia. hole is a different animal to a 500mm long 100mm dia. hole.

Wood dowel will be more difficult than metal as the material is non-uniform.

If I wanted such an item, I would route a semi-circular groove in two pieces of wood, glue them together and then turn the outside concentric with the hole.

Hi. I'm a complete newbie. I'm wanting to be able to drill through the axial centre of a one meter length of round dowel/wood. The drill of course would fit in the tailstock (I'd need to modify my current tailstock BTW). I'd need to be using at least a 500mm long drill. So, how is the task I've set for accomplished in terms of practicality? What do I need to consider, etc? Thank you. Rich
Google "wood turning long hole boring".
Basically you need a hollow centre for the tailstock, drilled to be good fit to a long bit, so that it will be aligned. You can power it through with an electric drill, or hold the bit and turn the workpiece. Then reverse the workpiece and drill from the other end.