chisel sharpening

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Batfink44

Established Member
Reaction score
I am quickly learning that a sharp chisel is essential and being a beginner i know my sharpening technique is non existent. I don't want to ruin my lovely shiny new chisels by butchering them at the grinding wheel after reading the wood turners "bible" Keith rowley speaks of using jigs. could you point me in the right direction where to get them from please or has anyone actually made the jig set out in his book it looks fairly easy to make but if theres a good priced alternative to it.

Hi Batfink,

The "jig" or sharpening platform that Keith Rowley describes is pretty easy to make if you're set up with the right kit. If not then there are a few alternatives you can buy:

100245_s.jpg

The Axminster own or:

M2301_s.jpg

The Veritas version.

Sharpening like this takes a light touch and a good bit of practice but is quick, easy and cheap once perfected.

Hope this helps,

Richard

PS, my grinder set up:

P2240039.JPG

there have been a number of posts in the last 6 months (one by me) looking for information on the various sharpening jigs (and also Tormek water cooled system comparisons). I have ended up getting the Tru-Grind system (now available through Axminster but better to go to source as there's more bits available). Ultimately I will probably end up with a Tormek T7 however that might be a little time away.

Miles

Hi again Batfink.

As said there have been numerous posts about sharpening over the last few months.

What you first must realise is that every woodworker has their own preferred way to do things, and sharpening is just one, so with tongue in cheek.