Bucket list

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Palletmangler

Reaction score
Does anyone have a list of things they want to make?

Top of mine is a Morris chair, just because of how they look, I've never even sat in one!

I've got a pile of oak and beech waiting for when I'm ready and skilled enough, but probably more than I need.

So for inspiration I thought I'd ask if anyone had ambitions to produce something special like that or maybe you've already done something you're especially proud of?

a bracket clock, and the elusive kitless fountain pen that is perfect in form and function.

I'd like to make a box for my own ashes to be put it, that would be hilarious as my last project. Seriously though, as a guitarist, I really want to build both an electric guitar (at least one) and a classical guitar, and possibly an oud, I know that's a long way off, but it's also not impossible.

Dining table and chairs. I think that's my vanity tho, I'm always looking for validation so to sit eating a meal with friends and them cooing over the table and chairs I would secretly love. Something just for me? A box for my watches, I have two but may have three in the future, super tight dovetails, highly figured timber, leather lined. Not sure I'll ever have that level of skill.

F.

I've made circular tables but never an oval table. I've made sliding doors but never a tambour. I've laid sunburst veneers but never it's "opposite" a spider's web veneer. I've built a boat but never made a musical instrument. I've french polished but never done a scorched Oak finish.

That's the beauty of woodworking, there's always something new to sink your teeth into!

Most of all I want to make something that'll win a Guild Mark. But it's a race against time, arthritis runs in the family and if I follow the familiar pattern in ten years time I'll begin to be limited to simpler builds.