Black walnut cheaper alternative

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NCR703

Reaction score
I'm plotting an end table and American black walnut would be an ideal colour for it, given the setting.
I'm not very experienced with buying or using hardwood and just trying to figure out some options based on price for boards and battens. The walnut is too expensive for this project.

Could anyone suggest some good alternatives to get a similar colour and interesting grain pattern at a lower cost? Staining is an option, in which case ideally something that stains easily?

I was thinking beech but the grain is a bit bland? Or maybe Sapele but is this a bit red?

Last edited:
An end table isn't a big item. How much do you believe you will save buying cheaper wood? Here I would tell you to buy Alder as it can be stained to look like almost anything. I have no idea if it is available in the UK. I'd still get the Walnut as I am not terribly proficient at staining. Being colour deficient doesn't help.

Pete

Compared with beech, maple, ash, Sapele the walnut is about 3x more expensive, so quite considerable.

I'd be up to my local auction house to see if any ugly Victorian mahogany wardrobes are in the cheap section (my local runs two in parallel, antiques and 'stuff'). If you find one, it might be under £20. A charity shop would also be worth a look, though they charge more! Of course you'll need to transport it home, maybe knocking it apart on site to fit a roof rack.

I'm still working through my last wardrobe, which was solid Honduras mahogany sides (and the door frames were useful timber too). That takes stain well, and I'd expect a little experimentation would get you fairly close to the look of walnut. If an end table is the size I think, there were about 8 of them in that wardrobe.