Best handsaw to cut 30-40cm diameter wet log? Bow saw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pgrbff

Established Member
Reaction score
I want to trim the ends of some maple-type logs before painting with end seal, at the moment they have very rough ends.
What handsaw will give me a clean cut?

I'm no sawing expert so this is just my thoughts on the subject.

A bow saw is going to wander as it is just designed to cut wide logs quickly. You are also likely to have a lot of saw marks as they are large toothed and it's quite likely the teeth are not perfectly aligned.

A big panel saw with a fine tooth is likely to be your best bet, something like this maybe Magnusson 14tpi Wood Floorboard Saw 20" (500mm) - Screwfix

It'll take longer to get through the log with the finer tooth but you should get a better finish. You'd just have to saw slowly and try and remain as straight as possible

I don't think any of the pruning saws or bow saws will give a smooth finish. Overall a bow saw fitted with a raker tooth blade is your best option. Dry wood needs a peg tooth blade. You might also consider a ratchet type lopers which will handle anything up to 40 cms diameter and will leave a smoother finish than a saw.

I'm no sawing expert so this is just my thoughts on the subject.

A bow saw is going to wander as it is just designed to cut wide logs quickly. You are also likely to have a lot of saw marks as they are large toothed and it's quite likely the teeth are not perfectly aligned.

A big panel saw with a fine tooth is likely to be your best bet, something like this maybe Magnusson 14tpi Wood Floorboard Saw 20" (500mm) - Screwfix

It'll take longer to get through the log with the finer tooth but you should get a better finish. You'd just have to saw slowly and try and remain as straight as possible