Bedroom Tax

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Max Power

Established Member
Reaction score
A scrounger who has never worked although perfectly able bodied, and lives alone in a three bedroomed house was complaining about either having to move to smaller accommodation or be "penalised" for having two empty bedrooms.
My response was that if I couldn't afford to live in a property that was much larger than my needs then I would have to move , so why shouldn't he do the same and why the hell should my taxes go to subsidising his excesses.
For some reason he took offence :roll: , was I wrong

To give you some indication of how much benefit is being claimed, consider my position. I do not earn a lot, just a little over the average wage. I am a 51 year old teacher with 30 years experience, married with 2 sons, 20 and 23. Admittedly I work a 40 week year, but I average 55hrs a week as opposed to the "normal" 38hrs. After I have deducted the mortgage from my take home pay I am left with an amount substantially less than my [Post Office counters part time working] wife routinely hands out each week to 30 year olds who are unemployed. This is of course after she has taken out the vastly reduced rent they pay to the council.
Admittedly I am fortunate enough in getting odd paying woodwork jobs, but without these I get no holidays and have no spending money.
I am only grateful the "gentleman" with bedrooms you mentioned has not crossed my path.

Colin

I used to use a post office on a council estate because it was easy parking, and I was there one social security day. The amount of money handed out was unreal, and I followed a girl from the p.o. counter to the front of the shop where she bought £5 of chocolate, 200 cigarettes and thirty quids worth of lottery tickets. Nice work if you can get it.