Bandsaw choice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scockram

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Here's yet another bandsaw thread, I know there's been rather a lot already. Sorry!

So I'm currently in the market for a bandsaw. For general use and also more specifically for cutting blanks for wood turning. I'm only a hobbyist, looking to spend as little as possible, but wanting to get a decent quality machine. Hence I'm only considering older, used tools.

I've got a couple of contenders at present that are within my price range.
One is a Startrite 14-s-1,
the other a Elektra Beckum BAS 315

Any thoughts on either or both of the above please anyone?

Thanks
Simon

Lots of things terrible regarding the 315.
Guides are gallium/clay like zinc castings which crumble,
cheaper to buy a welder than buy replacements from bedford tool & co.
Worst fence and rail system ever designed on a bandsaw, fence needs disassembly and stable like an empty beer can blowin in the wind once removed, after which rail then needs removal to change blade, (which also keeps the table leaves flat)
That's a few bolts to do up again.
Silly that you also need a big flathead for the doors, but thats easily sortable

Good chance the little bit of threaded rod used for tensioning will be stripped.
Tires seems pants compared to other machines.

The frame is good, unsure what metal the wheels are made from,
most machines these days, i.e over a decade have cast iron.
which I'd personally be looking for instead.

Quite a large machine for what it is, as the table is huge,
pretty much the same footprint as a compact 20" has.

Whats your budget for this bandsaw/band saw?
EB 315.JPG