Bandsaw blade advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

plymouth pirate

Established Member
Reaction score
What bi-metal blade?

I'm sawing 5" teak and the standard Record blades are lasting no time at all and although I have no experience of them and they seem to be at least thre times as expensive, bi-metal blades seem to be the way to go.

The machine is a 350 model with a 3/4" blade capacity. I understand that you should not use the maximum size for extended use and though there seems to be many 3/8" blades available I can find no 5/8" and assume that 1/2" is what I will need to order.

Spent some time looking at various suppliers, but I'm really not sure what is what.

Would appreciate any advice from your experiences.

Thanks.

John

Try Axcaliber blades from Axminster,I have no problems with these and I cut brass and copper.Record blades just aren`t worth the money.

The key factor here is that you're cutting 5in. thick teak, which is going to dull many blades in no time at all (as you've discovered). Bi-metal blades could be the way to go; even an M42 blade, as has been suggested by tekno.mage.

I think your best bet would be to ring one of these companies (like Trucut), tell them you're cutting 5in. teak and ask for their advice. :wink:

Thanks for your help all.

M42 seems to be the way to go but phoning the suppliers first also makes a lot of sense.

Regards

John

Hi John
I have been cutting/resawing some reclaimed 5" Teak over a number of years and have found M42 blades the only ones to last any reasonable time, plus with the oily nature of the wood they they cut extremely well and do not strain the saw
I use 1/2" 3TPI,

They are expensive I paid nearly £40 each for my last 2 after you factor in the carriage of £9,

Cheers Nigel

Nigel":dplxqa2a said: