Band Saw & Planer/Thicknesser for hobbyist

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yan89

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening all

Just been looking at picking up a band saw and planer/thicknesser.

Starting with the P/T, space for big machines is a bit of a problem with me working out of the garage (which is also a gym) so I've been looking at lunchbox style units, or smaller ones at least, especially seeing as I'm just starting out. That way I can put them away under the bench when I'm not using them. The one I've been learning toward is the Makita 2012NB, which I can get for £550 ish, or the Dewalt 735x (if I can get one in the UK) or DW 733 failing that..

Anyone got any opinion they fancy sharing on any of those machines? I know there's the DW1150 jointer or a KITY 636 combi if I go for bigger units, but the cost and the space they take up would put me off, at least until I know i'll use them enough to warrant their inclusion in my set up.

With the band saw, I've not looked at all as yet, barring a cursory glace at potential prices. I'm wanting to really get to grips with box making to begin with, and will be using it to rip boards down for that purpose initially. ANY suggestions on this front would be welcome, even if the opinion here is that I actually find a smaller table saw rather than a bandsaw (table saw presumably being more versatile than the bandsaw?). The reason I was thinking the band saw was again the footprint - in my mind's eye at least, bandsaws take up less space than table saws. Is this correct?

Any help appreciated

Ian