Retirement workshop - which machines to buy?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adhb

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a hobby woodworker looking to set up a bigger, better workshop to enjoy in my retirement. I've got a good range of hand tools, routers, scroll saw, bobbin sander, thicknesser, compound mitre saw and table saw. Now I'm planning to get a band saw, router table, drill press, mortice. And dust extraction. I'm lucky enough to have squirreled away a chunk of money for this. My first thought was to go for Record Power, but I'm having second thoughts after reading a few bad reviews of some of their bandsaws. I've also had my head turned by my Axminster portable spiral thicknesser.
Any recommendations please? I want to buy decent machines that I can trust, will last but won't bankrupt me. Many thanks

Lucky you. Don't follow fashion, I would upgrade your table saw to a sliding table capable of reducing down 4 x8 sheets .it will do 90% of cutting wood for a DIY er. After that dust extraction will make the workshop a more pleasant experience.

eets

Lucky you. Don't follow fashion, I would upgrade your table saw to a sliding table capable of reducing down 4 x8 sheets .it will do 90% of cutting wood for a DIY er. After that dust extraction will make the workshop a more pleasant experience.

eets
Thanks. Don't do much cutting of sheets... Does a sliding table come in useful more generally?

"I would upgrade your table saw to a sliding table capable of reducing down 4 x8 sheets .it will do 90% of cutting wood for a DIY er"

I agree a sliding table saw is nice, but one big enough to lift 8x4 onto is very large and you need a huge amount of space around it.