Baby High Chair - go easy i'm a newbie

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

furyjohn

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening all. Some of you may have seen my original posts asking for help on selecting the type of Hardwood to use for my Baby High Chair project. following all the advice I had settled upon White Beech - however the thinnest boards I could get were 2" and i need 1" - with no way to resaw I settled for the Steamed Beech of which there were loads of 1" boards. I now have the boards in the shed, but i'm wondering :-

Do i need to bring them into the house to let them acclimatise ?
If so, how long for ?
Do i need to leave the boards 'whole' for this process or can i rough-cut my parts and acclimatise them ?

The boards i have are 3 off 1"x4"x8 ft and 2 off 1"x6"x8 ft.

Also, anyone know where i can get hold of the straps needed for the high chair ?

I'll post some pictures of the boards once Bambino is fed, watered and in bed and the FPO (Fun Prevention Officer) is out of the way !

FJ

FJ
If it were me .....

• If the boards are flat(ish) i would skim plane to remove any saw marks.
    I would would cut to the sizes required (allowing a little for final trimming)
    bring indoors for 3-4 weeks (in stick with all round air flow)
    cut to within 2 mm of finshed thickness
    take indoors for another week
    then make it - bring the pieces indoors each night

If you keep the boards whole as they dry they may cup more. Plus it would take longer - the closer your finished surface is to the air at the start, the quicker the acclimatisation.

Re the straps - try a wanted post on freecycle.

Dave[/list]

FJ,

Dave has that about spot on......