Axminster Bandsaw Blades!!!!!!!!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pete Robinson

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have heard alot of differing reports about bandsaw blade quality.
I am looking at buying some new blades for my bandsaw and am wondering how the ones from Axminster compare to others ie: Dure-edge etc.....

My bandsaw is a Record Power BS500, I am still using the blade that was supplied with it, I am no expert in this field and would like some feedback as to, maybe not the best blade on the market as this is not the mainstay of my workshop, but I am in the market for some new blades and am in the process of putting an order in with Axminster - should I bother with their blades in order to make up my free postage?

What profile and tpi do you recommend bearing in mind I dont have a specific task in mind, maybe a little re-sawing and maybe shaping and general usage if there is such a thing!!

All comments welcome - even insults!!

Hi pete i got my first bandsaw a couple of months ago. they also send me 2 free blades from axminster :p . they where much better then the one i got with my Jet. can full heartedly recommend getting new blades.

don't know if axminster are the best, i'm sure someone will be along in a minute to suggest a supplier.

when i put on my new blades my new bandsaw got 50% better

good luck

Pete
I have used the Axminster ones for a while - they certainly cut quite nicely. Are they the best?? Can't answer that for you.
I believe the Dure-edge blades were highly recommended and Dragon blades also seem to be getting rave reviews.

As for which blade, I find a 3tpi blade suitable for most work. 1/2 wide is a good compromise for straight/curved cuts.
Hope this helps
Philly :D