Advice Please- Table Saw Push Sticks and Disks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spiritburner

Established Member
Reaction score
Hiya Everyone

I am looking for some advices please for what are the best type of push sticks to use with my new Dewalt 7492 Table saw, I've already been advised to throw the plastic supplied one in to the bin. I have some experience with table saws but I am by no means an expert in any way. I am familiar though with most of the safety practices which is why I would like to use the right sticks from the start of this new relationship I have made with my saw :giggle:

I am also looking to acquire some knowledge on whether the stock disk is any good and what can I expect from it and perhaps any information of what disks I should be looking at for general purpose wood cutting, cross and ripping but not chipboard or MDf, laminated or not for which I have no interest in cutting ever.

I may also need to cut Cast Acrylic ( 6mm) and light Aluminium sheet/box section as well (1.5mm wall max if this is possible)

One of the first jobs I will be doing is building the saw into its own combined workbench/saw station using marine ply and beech or almond of which the latter is plentiful where I live.

Thanks for the kind words.

Neil
IMG_3662.JPEG

Those plywood push sticks look entirely reasonable,do they differ greatly from the plastic version supplied?The next step should be to attach the guards to the saw as this will reduce the risks of injury further.Normally saws of this general type would be supplied with a general purpose blade.For acrylic you will need something a bit finer and even then there will be a risk of splintering on the underside of the cut as there is quite a gap between the saw teeth and the table insert.