Advice on best way to remove the excess material from base of this bowl?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andy's Shed

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to woodturning so please keep that in mind if this is a daft question. ;)

I wanted to try and see if I could turn something that would resemble a bowl of some sort and I found a piece of Oak that was almost but not quite as big as the bowl plate (I don't know the correct name). I don't have a chuck so this was a bit of a make do situation. The screws going through the plate are 25mm long, I've used a parting tool to remove some material but I can't go any deeper without risking hitting the screws.

After I unscrew the bowl from the plate, what's the best way to remove the excess material from the bottom of the bowl please?

20221121_180100.jpg

20221121_180055.jpg

Hi Andy,

Hollow out your bowl and try and keep the area near the rim square or slightly undercut. Once this has been done make what is known as a jam-chuck out of some spare timber. A jam-chuck is a piece of timber that holds another piece of timbe. Pare down the jam-chuck (to make a small spigot) until it fits into the rim of your bowl tightly and the rim of the bowl butts up to the wider part of the jam-chuck.

If you make the spigot too small place some tissue over the spigot and push your bowl onto it. Once you have this tightly located and square you can shape the bottom of the bowl. Make sure you take light cuts when shaping the base and make sure your gouge is sharp or you will be chasing your bowl around the workshop.

Hope that helps

I'm glad I asked as I'd never have thought of that, what a neat solution. Now I just need to find some wood that'll fit the bill :)

I've already hollowed out the bowl (another first for me) and it's reasonably square . . . please excuse the ruddy toolmarks.