63mm tubing for "occasional" planing/thicknessing?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Will this work?

• This will work fine for you

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • This isn't going to work

Votes: 4 66.7%

• Total voters

Copes

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've recently bought a 6" surface planer and a triton TPT125 thicknesser, i just need to get some extraction sorted for them.

I have a axi CT-50RCK extractor which works fine for my tablesaw with 100mm hose, the question is, can i get away with 63mm hose for the above machines, i'm only a hobbyist so it's only for occasional use here and there so the odd blockage isn't a problem. The thicknesser actually seems to ahve a 63mm~ port anyway, just trying to save a few quid.

Anyone tried/using this?

Thanks

any extraction is better than no extraction.
But the right sized extraction gives you the recommended clearance rate.

sunnybob":3r8me26r said:
any extraction is better than no extraction.
But the right sized extraction gives you the recommended clearance rate.
Sorry Bob but in this case I think it would make things worse, the first shavings to hit it will block it up then back up into the machine and snarl that up, you then spend 20 minutes clearing it all up, may as well just sweep the floor in TV the first place.

I have 63 mm rigid extraction system, through a home made cyclone and into a sip 50 litre collector, connected via blast gates to each of the following;
makita 1801 powered router table
axminster 350N bandsaw
ryobi combi mitre saw/table saw
charnwood 4" belt / 6" disc sander.
And then a jet 12" thicknesser on the other side of the workshop via 6 metres of 63 mm flexible hose.

I had to modify the bandsaw as it came with 2 x 100 mm ports. I blocked the lower completely and reduced the upper to 63 mm, put a shield around the lower bearing block and it works fine.