1st scroll saw on a budget

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evanso82

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

This is my first time posting on this bit, so please be gentle.

I am a keen hobbyist, and am interested in getting a scroll saw, but I can only afford around the £100 mark, which I know isn’t going to get me the best machine but will be good enough for what I want to do with it. I’ll probably just make things for family and friends so I don’t need the best machine.

ive been looking at these up to now.

http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-ho ... scroll-saw
http://www.axminster.co.uk/jet-jss-16-b ... scroll-saw
http://www.screwfix.com/p/erbauer-erb11 ... 230v/21062
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Clarke-CSS400B- ... U8C3QP4UJH

ive also been looking for second hand Hegner, but nothing has come up close to where I live or within my price range.

Can anyone advise which is the best machine to go for please?

Thank you for any advice in advance and again please be gentle with me (I don’t really know what am doing)

Cheers

Mark

Hi Mark i would recommend a hegner if you can get one on your budget they are best .

Regards
Derek.

Hi Mark
you are very unlikely to get a hegner in your budget (if you do, I want it!)
my first scroll saw was a titan cheapie from screwfix, and it did me just fine, til I wanted to do lots of very fine stuff, if I had known about blade converters I may well still be using it. it ran smooth and cut well, allowing for the rubbish blades I bought, as I didn't know about being able to buy good quality blades online - yes, I knew nothing :roll: - still had fun tho
Would guess that the ones with flexi shafts and stuff might be a bit of a gimmick, but I still know not much more than nothing :D
Bite the bullet make a choice and enjoy scrolling , there probably isn't much to choose amongst the basic saws
good luck

Gill