Yet another newbie requiring advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marcot

Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name is Mark and I'm totally new to woodworking. I'm looking to get into scroll sawing with the idea of starting some sort of part-time business ( not sure what type yet) if and when I become proficient. I'm sure there must be a market out there somewhere. I'm totally fed up with my job and feel the need to do something completely different. I'm looking at purchasing one of the Axminster awfs18 machines but I need to know how easy it is to do inside cuts with this and other machines. ie If I needed to do say 10 inside cuts for intricate work what would be the time cost. I'm thinking in this case that time is money so it may be more cost effective for me to purchase a more expensive but quicker machine. Any advice would be welcomed greatly. Thanks.

Welcome to the forum, Mark :) . If you find a way to make money out of scrolling, do pass on the secret!

There are others here who use the AWFS18 and are much more qualified than me to comment on it. If you're new to scrolling, I suggest you consider a saw which is designed for a beginner. That way, if you find scrolling isn't for you or your products don't sell as well as you anticipated, you won't have lost out too badly in financial terms. Any profits you make could always go towards the purchase of a high-end machine suitable for heavy duty scrolling, such as a Diamond or a Hegner.

Most newbies are usually advised to choose John Nelson's introductory workbook and a SIP 16" saw. The introductory saws of choice used to be Deltas, but Delta have sadly pulled out of the UK market. However, I've noticed that Delta has an agency in France, so perhaps it might be worthwhile importing from the continent. I know nothing of such matters myself, however.